---
title: Transferring a root account
slug: transferring-a-root-account
docTags: 
createdAt: 2024-07-22T22:13:09.438Z
---

Root account is created when customer/tenant gets on boarded. Root user is the first user for customer that gets added to system. There could be only one root account for customer, so there could be a need to change root account user in situations where a person is leaving the organization or change in roles.

To transfer a root account, navigate to Account Management >> Profile >> Transfer Root Account.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/6swSwg1BT-BlfEPtYJhxM/4zxKQgU70Ey_VRDLNt-Fs_transfer-root-dark-1.png)

Select one of the admins to transfer the root account privileage.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/6swSwg1BT-BlfEPtYJhxM/bUA4R6GUWLw1UiFi16o5K_transfer-root-dark-2.png)

After clicking "Next" the current root admin will receive an OTP and once that is entered, the root account privileges are transferred.
